Our First Triathlon

4 Apr

We did the sprint distance “Vi Tri” in Visalia. Its something the 2 of us have talked about doing for 3-4 years now, and we did it!

Its something the 2 of us have talked about doing for 3-4 years now, and we did it!

Here’s Brian setting up our transition area

The swim was rough. I got into a super slow, overcrowded lane, so it was hard to pass. When I got on the bike I kept thinking, “just pass anyone you come up to.”

The girls started about 10min after the guys. Brian and I passed each other twice during the event and cheered each other on. It was so awesome to see my studly husband doing something he has always wanted to accomplish.

Yay, I did it!

And then the most shocking thing happened. They were announcing who got what place by age and long/short race. We stayed, wanting to be a part of the experience, and see who the winners were.

When I hear on the speaker,”Jacinda Hale”. Huh, What?! So I go up to see what happened. And they tell me I got 1st place in my age group!!!

I was pumped! Got 10th place overall in the girls division out of 56.



It was an amazing experience. I LOVED doing this with Brian. Im so glad I did it, and cant wait to do it again! If you’re even considering it, DO IT! It’s such a great culture. Everyone is so encouraging and warm.

Who of you have tried a triathlon or plan to? Or another physical event? Would love to hear about it.

5 Responses to “Our First Triathlon”

  1. Donel April 4, 2011 at 12:39 am #

    Congrats girl!! So awesome! I have talked forever of doing one, however im not big of the water and dont even own a bike lol! I have done a handful of marathons! 🙂

  2. Vanessa April 4, 2011 at 12:45 am #

    WOW! Congrats – what an accomplishment.

  3. marissa April 4, 2011 at 12:56 am #

    Congrats!!

  4. shan April 4, 2011 at 5:08 am #

    good job…1st place, wow!!! the only kinda race i’ve ever done was a 5K…haha!

  5. Penny April 6, 2011 at 4:40 am #

    So proud of both of you for accomplishing a triathlon! First place is awesome.

Leave a Reply

